Socialist Summer Camp

Register now for YDSA’s Summer 2019 online training program

Registration is open for YDSA’s weekly online organizing trainings every Tuesday at, 8PM ET/7PM CT/6PM MT/5PM PT. First training is May 28.

Grab your bandanas and lace up your hiking boots – YDSA is heading to summer camp! Join us around the virtual campfire every Tuesday evening all summer for a new organizing training each week. From talking about socialism with potential members to running and winning a transformative campaign, attendees will gain the skills they need to take their YDSA chapters to the next level this Fall.

Each training will consist of a one-hour webinar every Tuesday at 8PM ET/7PM CT/6PM MT/5PM PT, led by a DSA staff organizer or YDSA student leader. Attendees will receive a reading assignment each week prior to the training, and a homework assignment to complete and report back on by the next week’s training. All trainings will be recorded and available to all who register for summer camp using this form. There is no cost to attend these trainings.

YDSA summer camp is open to everyone! Members of YDSA chapters and organizing committees, as well as DSA members with an interest in campus organizing and students who are interested in launching a campus or high school chapter are especially encouraged to sign up. The trainings will be geared specifically toward organizing successful YDSA chapters. 

Please contact yds@dsausa.org if you have any questions.

YDSA Summer Camp Agenda

Subject to change

May 28 – YDSA 101

June 4 – Mass outreach and recruitment on campus

June 11 – How to run a meeting

June 18 – Activating your membership

June 25 – How to have a 1 on 1

July 2 – Developing a strategy

July 9 – Planning a winning campaign

July 16 – Navigating your school’s bureaucracy 

July 23 – Chapter security and organizing safety

July 30 – National convention, no training

August 6 – Agitprop 101

August 13 – Running a voter registration drive